Soviet Union: Polity Style: 1922-1991

30 Dec 1922 declaration and treaty on establishment of Sojuz Sovetskih Socialističeskih Respublik are passed and approved by a resolution of the First Congress of Soviets [1]
30 Dec 1922 - 26 Dec 1991 Союз Советских Социалистических Республик (Sojuz Sovetskih Socialističeskih Respublik) [2]
25 Dec 1991 televised address delivered by outgoing head of state (Prezident SSSR) announcing his resignation followed by takeover procedures ceding state power to authorities of Russian Federation (Rossijskaja Federacija)
26 Dec 1991 a declaration passed by Sovet Respublik, one of two chambers of federal parliament (Verhovnyj Sovet SSSR), proclaimed that Soviet Union ceased to exist [3]

[1] I Съезд Советов, Стенографический отчет с приложениями (Москва: Изд. ЦИК СССР, 1923), приложение 1-е, стр. 8.
[2] Official abbreviations: СССР (SSSR), Союз ССР (Sojuz SSR); also in official use: Советский Союз (Sovetskij Sojuz).
[3] Ведомости Верховного Совета СССР, 1991, № 52.
Last updated on: 25 Jun 2009 20:00:00