Pakistan: Polity Style: 1947-2022

15 Aug 1947 partition of British India and Indian States into the Dominions of India and Pakistan and proclamation of its independence upon the taking effect of Indian Independence Act 1947 ("An Act to make provision for the setting up in India of two independent Dominions, to substitute order provisions for certain provisions of the Government of India Act, 1935, which apply outside those Dominions, and to provide for other matters consequential on or connected with the setting up of those Dominions") (Gazette of India, 18 July 1947)
15 Aug 1947 - 23 Mar 1956 Pakistan = Pākistān [1]
23 Mar 1956 Constitution becomes effective
23 Mar 1956 - 8 Jun 1962 Islamic Republic of Pakistan = Islāmī Jumhūriyya-yi Pākistān = Islāmī Jumhūriyāt-e Pākistān [2]
8 Jun 1962 - 16 Jan 1964 Republic of Pakistan = Jumhūriyya-yi Pākistān = Jumhūriyāt-e Pākistān
16 Jan 1964 - Islamic Republic of Pakistan = Islāmī Jumhūriyya-yi Pākistān = (to 14 Aug 1973) Islāmī Jumhūriyāt-e Pākistān [3]

[1] The Indian Independence Act 1947 establishes Pakistan as a new polity, referring to it as "one of the new dominions". The style Dominion of Pakistan, in occasional official use, has no Constitutional warrant.
[2] The Constitution of 1956, established in its Article 214 (1) that "The State languages of Pakistan shall be Urdu and Bengali" with a 20-year time span during which "English shall continue to be used for all official purposes for which it was used in Pakistan immediately before the Constitution day."
[3] Re-introduction of the term Islamic into the polity style is prescribed by the Constitution (First Amendment) Act, 1963, passed by the Legislature 24 Dec 1963, assented to by the President 10 Jan 1964, and published as Act No. I of 1964 in the Gazette of Pakistan, Extraordinary 16 Jan 1964. It is frequently cited with the erroneous date Dec 1962.
Last updated on: 21 Sep 2014 20:00:00