HomeNationsMyanmarPolity Style: 1948-2024

Myanmar: Polity Style: 1948-2024

4 Jan 1948 Burma became an independent state in accordance with an act passed by the Parliament of the United Kingdom (House of Commons on 14 Nov 1947; House of Lords on 4 Dec 1947; received royal assent on 10 Dec 1947; effective on 4 Jan 1948) (Public General Acts, 1947, Part 2, pp. 1938-1951)
4 Jan 1948 Burma is proclaimed a sovereign independent republic to be known as the Union of Myanmar (Union of Burma) in accordance with the Constitution of the Union of Myanmar (Pẏiññthauṅṡú Mẏanma naiṅṅaṃ-e phwǽṡìññʾoupchouppouṃʾċhekhaṃúpáde | ပြည်ထောင်စုမြန်မာနိုင်ငံ၏ဖွဲ့စည်းအုပ်ချုပ်ပုံအခြေခံဥပဒေ) adopted by the Constituent Assembly (Tàiṅpẏiññpẏú hlwttau | တိုင်းပြည်ပြုလွှတ်တော်) on 24 Sep 1947 and coming into effect on the day (4 Jan 1948) fixed by a proclamation of the Provisional State President issued on 4 Jan 1948 (Burma Gazette, No. 2, 10 Jan 1948, Part I, pp. 42-43)
4 Jan 1948 - 3 Jan 1974 Pẏiññthauṅṡú Mẏanma naiṅṅaṃ (ပြည်ထောင်စုမြန်မာနိုင်ငံ) | Union of Myanmar [2][3]
3 Jan 1974 the Constitution of the Socialist Republic of the Union of Burma (Pẏiññthauṅṡú ṡhoṧæliṡ ṫhámmát Mẏanma naiṅṅaṃtau phwǽṡìññpouṃʾċhekhaṃúpáde | ပြည်ထောင်စုဆိုရှယ်လစ် သမ္မတမြန်မာနိုင်ငံတော်ဖွဲ့စည်းပုံအခြေခံဥပဒေ) came into operation in accordance with a proclamation of the Revolutionary Council of 3 Jan 1974, certifying the results of the national referendum held on 15 Dec 1973 (Forward, vol. XII, No. 5, 1 Feb 1974, p. 2)
3 Jan 1974 - 19 Oct 1988 Pẏiññthauṅṡú ṡhoṧæliṡ ṫhámmát Mẏanma naiṅṅaṃtau (ပြည်ထောင်စုဆိုရှယ်လစ်သမ္မတမြန်မာနိုင်ငံတော်) | Socialist Republic of the Union of Myanmar
19 Oct 1988 the name of the state is changed in accordance with a law passed by the State Law and Order Restoration Council on 19 Oct 1988 (retroactively effective from 18 Sep 1988) (Myanmar Laws and Orders 1988, pp. 45-50)
19 Oct 1988 - 31 Jan 2011 Pẏiññthauṅṡú Mẏanma naiṅṅaṃtau (ပြည်ထောင်စုမြန်မာနိုင်ငံတော်) | Union of Myanmar [4]
31 Jan 2011 - the Constitution of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar (Pẏiññthauṅṡú ṫhámmát Mẏanma naiṅṅaṃtau phwǽṡìññpouṃʾċhekhaṃúpáde | ပြည်ထောင်စုသမ္မတမြန်မာနိုင်ငံတော်ဖွဲ့စည်းပုံအခြေခံဥပဒေ) is adopted at the national referendum held on 10 May 2008 and came into operation on the date of the convening of the first session of the Assembly of the Union (Pẏiññthauṅṡú hlwttau | ပြည်ထောင်စု လွှတ်တော်) as required by Art. 441 of the Constitution (The Mirror, No. 124, 1372.10.13b/1 Feb 2011, pp. 1, 3-6; New Light of Myanmar, No. 286, 1 Feb 2011, pp. 1, 4)
31 Jan 2011 - Pẏiññthauṅṡú ṫhámmát Mẏanma naiṅṅaṃtau (ပြည်ထောင်စုသမ္မတမြန်မာနိုင်ငံတော်) | Republic of the Union of Myanmar
  1. Full title: An Act to provide for the independence of Burma as a country not within His Majesty's dominions and not entitled to His Majesty's protection, and for consequential and connected matters (may be cited as the Burma Independence Act, 1947).
  2. Also in official use: Pẏiññthauṅṡú Mẏanma naiṅṅaṃtau (ပြည်ထောင်စုမြန်မာနိုင်ငံတော်) | Union of Myanmar.
  3. The official version of the Constitution of 1947 in English referred to the polity as the Union of Burma. This style was in official use for the legislation published in Burma Gazette.
  4. This style was used in some legislative acts issued between 18 Sep 1988 and 19 Oct 1988.