HomeNationsAfghanistanRegional Rulers (Kabul): 1818-1839

Afghanistan: Regional Rulers (Kabul): 1818-1839

The area approximately corresponding to the territory of the historic province of Kabul became a de facto independent polity governed by a succession of the regional rulers, challenging the authority of the ruling houses (clans).
Ruling House: Durrānī - Muḥammadzāʾī (درانی - محمدزائی)
1818 - 1818 Sardār Dūst Muḥammad Khān (سردار دوست محمد خان) [1][2]
1818 - 1823 Sardār Muḥammad ʿAẓīm Khān (سردار محمد عظیم خان)
1823 - 1824 Sardār Ḥabīb Allāh Khān (سردار حبیب الله خان)
1824 - 1824 Sardār Dūst Muḥammad Khān (سردار دوست محمد خان) 
1824 - 1824 Sardār Yār Muḥammad Khān (سردار یار محمد خان)
1824 - 1826 Sardār Sulṭān Muḥammad Khān (سردار سلطان محمد خان)
1826 - 1834 Sardār Dūst Muḥammad Khān (سردار دوست محمد خان)  [1]
1834 - Aug 1839 Amīr Dūst Muḥammad Khān (امیر دوست محمد خان)  [1][3]

[1] Sardār was a hereditary title in the Muḥammadzāʾī clan; Dūst Muḥammad was proclaimed Amīr (امیر) and Pādshāh (پادشاه) most probably between Sep 1834 and Nov 1834.
[2] Dūst Muḥammad Khān conquered Kabul from the authorities loyal to the Sadūzāʾī ruler Maḥmūd Shāh and controlled the city until the arrival of his elder brother, Muḥammad ʿAẓīm, who became the effective ruler of the capital and other territories.
[3] After a military defeat in the war against the Sadūzāʾī ruler Shujāʿ al-Mulk Shāh supported by the British army, Dūst Muḥammad fled from his camp near Kabul (2 Aug 1839), crossed the border near Bamyan (9 Aug 1839) and eventually took refuge in the Emirate of Bukhara. Shujāʿ al-Mulk and the British entered Kabul on 7 Aug 1839. Dūst Muḥammad returned and challenged the authority of Shujāʿ al-Mulk in 1840, but was defeated, surrendered to the British (3 Nov 1840) and was sent into exile.