Basque Country: Polity Style: 1980-2022

6 Jan 1978 provinces or territories of Álava, Gipuzkoa, Navarre and Biscay are placed under the administration of Consejo General del País Vasco / Eusko Kontseilu Nagusia, pending the approval of incorporation by provincial authorities, in accordance with a royal decree-law of 4 Jan 1978, effective upon publication (Spain Official Gazette, No. 5, 6 Jan 1978, pp. 326-327; Basque Country Official Gazette, 15 May 1978, pp. 1-4) [1]
11 Jan 1980 provinces of Álava, Gipuzkoa and Biscay are organized as an autonomous community (comunidad autónoma / komunitate autonomo) of Spain under the name of the Basque Country in accordance with the Statute of Autonomy of the Basque Country of 1979 (passed by the Congreso de los Diputados of Spain on 29 Nov 1979; Senado on 12 Dec 1979; signed into law on 18 Dec 1979; effective on the 20th day after the publication in Spain Official Gazette as required by Art. 2.1 of the Civil Code of Spain) (Spain Official Gazette, No. 306, 22 Dec 1979, pp. 29357-29363; Basque Country Official Gazette, No. 32, 12 Jan 1980, pp. 287-301) [2][3]
11 Jan 1980 - Euskadi / País Vasco = Euskadi / Euskal Herria

[1] Approval of incorporation: Gipuzkoa (resolution of the Diputación Foral of 22 Apr 1979), Álava (resolution of the Juntas Generales of 22 May 1979), Biscay (resolution of the Juntas Generales of 22 May 1979). The Parlamento of Navarre declined the incorporation.
[2] Full title (Spanish): Ley Orgánica 3/1979, de 18 de diciembre, de Estatuto de Autonomía para el País Vasco; (Basque): Eusko Herriko Autonomia, Estatutoaren 3/1979 abenduak 18, Lege Organikoa.
[3] Art. 2.2 of the Statute provided for accession of Navarre, if accepted (not implemented).

Last updated on: 02 Oct 2020 21:00:00